A while ago I mentioned on Twitter that I hadn’t turned my Wii on for over 6 months. Considering the hype that surrounded the Wii prior to its launch – hype that I bought into – ordinarily this might seem a bit odd. Not so odd when you take into account the fact that there seems to have been a total dearth of decent games released for the Wii for some time. The second to last game I bought would have most likely been Smash Bros Brawl, or possibly something else around that time. The only reason I turned my Wii on again recently was for House of the Dead: Overkill.

I’m sure some readers (Ha! Readers.) will be insistent that the Wii has been blessed with a truly bountiful selection of the games in the past months, like Wii Music, Wii Fit, Smash Bros Brawl, Madworld, and uh, that one game that wasn’t just a collection of mini games or some licenced garbage. You know the one I mean right? No? Me neither.

I suppose it could be considered a measure of success for a console how many truly excellent titles are released for it. For example, in the past months I’ve had the opportunity to play F.E.A.R 2, Banjo Kazooie – Nuts and Bolts, Fallout 3, Halo Wars, Dead Space, Call of Duty 5, and oddball title Ninja Blade on my 360, which I should mention has had significant playtime. I’m not counting Xbox Arcade titles, but there are a fair number of those I’ve spent funbucks on too. On the other hand, in that same time frame I’ve bought House of the Dead: Overkill for Wii. Quite a difference in quantity, really

Were I the cynical sort – I feel I should remind everybody that I am the cynical sort – I’d mention that the Wii would appear to be going the same way as the Gamecube, gradually dying off due to lack of Triple A titles and dire lack of third party support. The problem is, there isn’t a lack of support, it’s just the support would seem to be making mostly crappy games. I don’t know what happened, but I distinctly recall Nintendo saying that they would have a lot more third party support this time around, as well as some other major developers showing an interest in producing games for it. I think those devs got bored and decided to work on the 360 instead.

There’s also the fact that a fair few gamers feel that Nintendo has managed to alienate their core fan base by spending so much time on non-games such as Wii Fit and Wii Music, when I’d imagine a fair number of them would rather get Super Mario Universe, or The Legend of Zelda: Another Dark World Again, or something else from one of the many solid franchises they have. I also remember the so called treat for “hardcore gamers” at E3 that turned out to be a port of Animal Crossing DS. Sure, we got GTA Chinatown Wars, but how many people were expecting a Kid Icarus game to surface? I recall there were a number of rumours floating around for that one. But hey, at least we’re getting Punch Out at some time, right?

Then you take a look at whats been coming out for 360 – and probably PS3, but I don’t follow that considering I don’t own one – and I get disappointed. I know that marketing games to the traditional non-gamer groups can be ridiculously successful, hell, just look at Brain Training and how well that did. And is still doing, I believe. But what about everybody else? People who grew up on Mario are getting the shaft for grannies who previously would never have thought about picking up a Game Boy back in the day. Maybe it’s a little selfish of me to say that, but for somebody who grew up with video games it feels a little odd for Nintendo to stop concentrating on the “real” games for something like Wii Fit.

Maybe I’m growing too old for Nintendo? Who knows. I do know that my 360 looks a lot more inviting these days.

I probably should have stopped this post several paragraphs back, but I guess I’m making up for a month with no posts.

